UI researcher looking to interview parents about high school options

From Holly Nelson (nelson.holly.r@gmail.com):

I am a masters student in UIUC’s Urban Planning program and I was a 2004 Central graduate. Given recent discussions in Unit 4 about building a new Central, I decided to focus on the school siting issue for my thesis project. I have been coordinating with the City of Champaign and Unit 4 but I’m also very interested in perspectives of community members. My research focuses on the impacts of choosing various sites (I selected five sites, meant to be demonstrative of a whole range of options), including transportation, social, environmental, and cost impacts. I completed the transportation analysis last semester and will likely be presenting the results at next Monday’s [Jan 23rd] school board meeting.

My goal with the project is actually not to make a specific recommendation (although I’m happy to share my opinion), but to make tradeoffs more explicit. I think we as a community can make a better decision if we know more about potential impacts. No solution is going to satisfy everyone but I think we can all be better negotiators if we can lay out the tradeoffs that must be made in order to reach a compromise.

 

If anyone is interested, please let her know. I am having an interview with her tomorrow (Friday) and can report back.

 

3 Responses to “UI researcher looking to interview parents about high school options”

  1. pattsi petrie Says:

    Hurrah and at last someone from urban planning is looking at the issue of a new high school.

  2. Jan 23rd Special Board Meeting « A citizen’s blog about Champaign Unit 4 Says:

    […] decided to drop by the Special Board meeting tonight because I heard from Holly Nelson that Wiegand was going to talk about the high school options. For that, I was glad I went. They […]

  3. Feb 27th Special Board Meeting « A citizen’s blog about Champaign Unit 4 Says:

    […] I got to thinking “What does the University have to say?” I was sitting next to a masters student and Judy had mentioned that they had a Doctoral student looking into issues. The College of […]


Leave a Reply

