New Registration website is LIVE!

http://unit4registration.org/

 

And it ain’t that shabby. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am reading through it now to see how palatable it is. Feel free to leave comments.

2 Responses to “New Registration website is LIVE!”

  1. charlesdschultz Says:

    Well, it is certainly better than what they had. The web designer obviously copied some of the style from the existing Unit 4 website to aid in the transition, but added some more modern touches. I wish they did more, but for quick work, it is pretty sharp. My one issue from a design point of view is the navigation – the static navigation of the “process” on the left is a huge help, but you cannot go back to the previous page if you are jumping around via the internal links.

    In terms of information presentation, again, it is much better! I still think parent’s are going to be asking the same questions they have been asking, though. Like, “what happens if I don’t want my Proximity A school, but I do want Bottenfield, Barkstall, South Side and Robeson?” In fact, the whole section on Ranking fails to adequately explain what exactly you rank (in my opinion). I do not see where it states that you have five (5) possible choices. Did I miss it?

    During the Jan 10th Community Forum, Doretha Simmons mentioned that they are going to have some examples for the next forum. Too bad those are not on the website. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope they put them up there. Lynn Peisker says that video they produced for the Jan 26th meeting should be posted soon.

    Overall, a good step in a better direction. I long to see more.

  2. Molly Says:

    After looking at the website, it made me realize that the school of choice process simply is confusing, whether its all written down or not ๐Ÿ™‚ I was hoping this website would be the magic tool which answered parents questions and made the process more streamline, but it still has the same lingo (proximity, priority) and unanswered questions. I would love to see them add a section where you can enter in your address and find out your proximity A schools. And I’d love to see something giving more info about each of the elementary schools, so that you can form an educated opinion rather than basing an opinion off community gossip. An easy answer there would be for all of the elementary school webpages to be up-to-date and ‘sell’ themselves.

    Yet, I also am very pleased that there is a page. It was easy to find on the main champaignschools.org page. It looks nice (I love the picture of that little boy with the binoculars!) and is user friendly to navigate around.


Leave a Reply

