Social Justice in the schools

This afternoon I received an email from an Urbana High School teacher who gave me permission to post an invitation to the class’s presentation on Social Justice:

For those of you who don’t know me, please allow me to introduce myself.  My name is Ellen Dahlke, and I am an English teacher at Urbana High School.  I also co-chair the Social Justice Committee, and this semester, I have had the privilege of teaching Social Justice, an elective course available to all students, grades nine through twelve.

My students and I would like to share with you what we’ve learned about discipline, punishment, and justice at UHS through a qualitative research project we’ve conducted this semester as well as the recommendations we have for positively contributing to our schools’ culture in terms of social justice.

We’d like to present Tuesday morning, May 15th, during our 1st hour class, 8:00 to 8:50 in the UHS Lecture Hall.  Please let me know if you’ll be able to make it.

Thanks for your time.

As stated by Ms. Dahlke, please let her know if you intend to participate. Her email is edahlke@usd116.org

Leave a Reply

