WICD wants a parent's perspective on the CFT/Board negotiations

Anyone else interested? 🙂

 

Liz Lohuis wants to take my opinion on the teacher union negotiations. We’ll see how it goes. I am going to make sure I don’t get spun in to attacking either group – I respect how each group has striven to pursue a compromise, and both groups have consistently told me they are working together, emphasizing there are not “sides”.

 

I am still curious, for my own sake, what is the ideal role of the public in teacher contract negotiations. Right now my only impression is that the public doesn’t have much of a role at all.

6 Responses to “WICD wants a parent's perspective on the CFT/Board negotiations”

  1. charlesdschultz Says:

    Yup, Liz chopped up my statements pretty bad. Wow. With all the good things I said, the one and only thing they took was was that I was relieved and said how the CPS strike is kinda scary.

    One more lesson not to talk to TV stations. 🙂

  2. G. David Frye Says:

    “I am still curious, for my own sake, what is the ideal role of the public in teacher contract negotiations. Right now my only impression is that the public doesn’t have much of a role at all.”

    It seems to me that the only way the public can play a role in labor negotiations is to get sucked into the drama surrounding it. At the end of the day it’s really just about honest pay for an honest day’s work, and defining what those terms really mean.

    There is one area where, ultimately, public opinion can and probably should play a part, and that’s in setting community expectations for teacher performance (and tenure) vs. student performance. Both sides have managed to keep this out of the spotlight, but I get the impression there is an undercurrent of wanting to do some things (on the district side) that include a student performance yardstick, but having little room to maneuver due to the language of the contract. Until this reaches a point where public perception is important, I can’t see anything changing.

  3. charlesdschultz Says:

    Thanks for the input, G. David.

    Maybe I should turn my questions in a slightly different direction based on what you have said; what is best for our students and our community? And yes, I believe there is a way to serve the needs of one without sacrificing the needs of the other (still looking, though). We already see (based on Common Core) the continued desire for more evaluation (of students in particular – I don’t think Common Core tackles teacher evaluation, does it?). I do see Michelle Rhee’s StudentsFirst movement placing a much higher emphasis on teacher evaluations, and I cannot tell you the number of times I have heard stories about bad apples (from parents). It seems to me to go way beyond mere perception – would it not be best to have teachers who are able to transform challenging classroom environments into growing and learning environments? I am not saying we don’t have that (in fact, I know a few teachers who do that quite well) – I am saying should that not be a priority taken up by the teacher’s union?

    I confess, I ask out of ignorance. But the point of my asking is to no longer remain ignorant. 🙂

  4. Jackie Says:

    Why do you think that having “teachers who are able to transform challenging classroom environments . . .” is not a priority taken up by the teachers’ union? My experience is this is the number one priority. Professional, high-quality, best practice professional development, appropriate working conditions that allow teachers to do their work with quality, supports for those who are struggling . . .those kinds of issues are the very top priorities for the teachers’ unions as far as I am aware.

  5. charlesdschultz Says:

    @Jackie

    “I am not saying we don’t have that”

    🙂

    How would I know what the priorities of the union are? As of this second, the CFT webpage (apparently hosted by the AFT) is inaccessible. In the past when I have tried to browse their online information, it was hard to navigate and some of it was extremely old. The CFT doesn’t exactly mail out monthly updates to parents. 🙂 My point is that I, as an individual, have a hard time figuring out the CFT. Again, maybe that is the way it is supposed to be. I just have a really hard time giving the Union my full support when so much of it is hidden from me.

    Don’t get me wrong, I have a ton of respect for our teachers – I have already mentioned that I know of teachers that do this very thing we are talking about.

    Please, enlighten the grasshopper, what are the priorities of the CFT, and what is your source?

    “I confess, I ask out of ignorance. But the point of my asking is to no longer remain ignorant.”


Leave a Reply

