3 Responses to “the dirt in which the roots are buried (part 2)”

  1. G. David Frye Says:

    1. Slide #2 in the 9/26 presentation lists two southern locations for the high school. The northern location isn’t a done deal.

    2. I hate it when people carry their personal unhappiness with some (past) school subject into their children’s present, to the point of dragging the school and the teachers into it. I realize that you’re never going to be an “arm’s length” guy with respect to the school system, but you might think about how you’re portraying yourself here.

    3. I share your cynicism about The MAC. Someone is going to make a lot of money off it, and it isn’t going to be the school district. There is no acceptable (read: practical, equitable) substitute for including athletic facilities in a school’s design.

    4. Is there some significance to your distributing flyers to locations that are least likely to be interested in (or supportive of) financing new schools? Just curious.

  2. charlesdschultz Says:

    @G David,

    1. Oh, I am quite aware that none of it is a done deal; the fascinating thing is talking to various folks around town that have strong feelings one way or the other and hearing about various pros and cons for each site that I have not considered. And that’s the thing, they each have pros and cons from various perspectives – how to choose the best one? I have no idea.

    2. I had to re-read my post to figure out what part you meant. And I think you are referring to my dislike of history. I can see what you mean. From my perspective, I did not drag the school and the faculty into this discussion, it was quite literally like opening a can because all I said was “Why do we teach about Colonial America during Social Studies?” and the teacher took it from there. Again, just my perspective. Overall I thought it was an enlightening discussion about the games school districts play.

    4. When I talked to Stephanie, we talked about lots of different areas and venues we could hit; grocery stores, senior centers, churches, barbershops, libraries, etc. She gave me a stack, and I talked first to those entities that are close to my home and that I am more familiar with, especially since Stephanie said she had not had a chance to make it to Savoy yet. So I am covering Savoy just because I live down here. No particular agenda over and above that. As to “least likely to be interested” I feel it is important to at least invite folks like the geriatric crowd because who am I to say they are not going to be interested? The 2014 school referendum is going to be asking to raise our taxes a bit, so in my opinion we all have something to say about that.

  3. charlesdschultz Says:

    Dr. Wiegand reports that the new site is on Mattis opposing Greenview and UHaul


Leave a Reply

