Facilities Community Meeting (Futures Conference, take 2)

I just happened to be browsing the futurefacilities website (since I have not been receiving updates, and I still haven’t got the RSS figured out – it is wordpress afterall), and lookie what I noticed, a brand-new, surprise community meeting about future facilities.

“There was a good turnout at the Futures Conference on November 1st, but we wanted to provide another opportunity for small group discussion for those who were not able to attend.”

I am really glad they are doing this; even though it is on a Thursday, at least this time it is later in the evening and both food and childcare is being provided. And it is at BTW. Good move.

 

Since this one is only two hours, I am thinking the “presentation” portion of it is significantly reduced.

 

For this event, I would love to see those of us who are over-zealous to begin with to start recruiting/encouraging others to go. 🙂 I strongly believe that the Steering Committee needs to hear from a lot of other people over and above those of us they normally hear from. Problem is, I don’t know exactly how to make that happen. While holding another as-yet unadvertised community meeting is a good way to go, I still want to see DeJong hold smaller meetups in various areas in our community (and maybe even one or two in Spanish). This is a good step in the right direction, though. Kudos for that.

4 Responses to “Facilities Community Meeting (Futures Conference, take 2)”

  1. pattsi Says:

    Since most things shut down in this community Thanksgiving week, how are the folks going to learn about this meeting?

  2. charlesdschultz Says:

    Excellent question. I can only assume that Stephanie and Scott are going to do another media blitz like last time; unfortunately, I have a couple of outstanding emails with them, so I am not exactly sure what they are up to.

    On the flip side, I can’t expect a mere two people to canvass all of Champaign. 🙂 I hope they can pull together a team of folks that includes pastors, library chairs, grocery store owners, beauticians, etc; maybe this team can do a better job of inviting folks on a more personal level.

  3. pattsi Says:

    These are supposed to be consultants who have done this before and are being paid a good penney by the taxpayers. Does it not make sense that there be a level of expectation of performance, including battle plans? 🙂 I know that this reads as tough love, as it is meant to be. I have done 11 charrettes–always a battle plan as to how to engage the target populations.

  4. charlesdschultz Says:

    Bring on the tough love!

    Yes, that totally makes sense (that they have battle plans, plan B, plan C, contingency plans, etc). But I need solutions. Even if I (little, solitary me) chat it up with Scott Leopold and Stephanie Stuart, I don’t have a lot of confidence I can change anything. Maybe if I can get 10 or 20 of you to come with me…. then maybe we can do something.


Leave a Reply

