9 Responses to “houlihans, writing letters, novak academy, running for the board, parent advocacy”

  1. pattsi Says:

    Clarification–how many petitions can one Unit 4 taxpayer sign?

  2. charlesdschultz Says:

    Is that a rhetorical question? =) I am having difficulty finding an answer on the County Clerk site. Searching google, I am not finding any document that limits the number of petitions anyone can sign. I do not recall seeing any verbiage on a petition that suggests the number of petitions a legitimate registered voter is limited in any way. Thus to answer the “how much wood would a wood chuck chuck?” question, I would have to say that the tax payer can sign as many petitions as he can affix his sign to.

    A further point of clarification (going to add this to the original post); there are two distinct petitions for the Board Member position. One is a two-year term ending in 2015, the other is for the four-year term ending in 2017. You select which one you want when you go the Mellon Center to pick up the packet. Of the two people that I am aware of (and as reported by Meg), I am not sure which packets they selected. I’ll ask later today.

  3. pattsi Says:

    Have you ever heard of the telephone that would connect your directly with the county clerk who can definitively answer the petition signature question. 🙂

  4. pattsi Says:

    I have a call in to Gordy Hulten. I have half of the information right now. When I have the complete answer I will post it.

  5. pattsi Says:

    I am totally wrong. It is not the County Clerk who oversees this election. The School Board candidates file petitions with the Secretary of the School Board, and as such any petition challenges would be heard by a School District Electoral Board.

  6. charlesdschultz Says:

    Keep in mind that the Secretary of the Board (Tom Lockman) recently shifted that responsibility (legally, all reasonable) to someone else in the Administration at a previous Board Meeting (I think in September).

  7. Advocacy: what comes to mind when you hear/see that? « A citizen’s blog about Champaign Unit 4 Says:

    […] Previously I voiced a concern about the composition of this group. As I was sitting in the room with the others, I realized there was a really good mix of teachers and parents (and a significant amount of overlap), folks who take this advocacy thing seriously. Having observed this group of people interact I am much less concerned about the composition if (and this is a big if for all of us) we can get out and practice what we preach. I really love how one teacher mentioned she does home visits – this is one suggestion I had from Springfield’s example (F.A.C.E – family and community engagement). Tony is already doing round tables. These are excellent starting places, and this is what excites me. […]

  8. Karen Says:

    How were people selected for the committee?

  9. charlesdschultz Says:

    They had an official selection criteria and process, but I don’t think they followed it (they didn’t for me). I got the feeling they just started asking around.


Leave a Reply

