Why I invest so much of my energy in Unit 4

prop_tax

 

 

Short and sweet. I would be curious what the chart would look like for those that live in Champaign proper. Bondville?

6 Responses to “Why I invest so much of my energy in Unit 4”

  1. Chuck Jackson Says:

    The fact that so much of your property taxes goes to Unit 4 is “Why I invest so much of my energy in Unit 4”? My experience with you suggests otherwise… Relevant data, yes. The motivation for your involvement? There is more to it (and you) than that.

  2. charlesdschultz Says:

    Of course there is more to it than that. Obviously. 🙂 I can call it a desire for social justice, racial equity, embracing “it takes a village to raise a child”…. all that put together and more. But those things tend to be very hard to put numbers on. Dollar signs are both very measurable and grab attention. *grin*

    What really motivates me? When I die and look back on my life, I want to have made a difference. I firmly believe that educating children (not to mention other life-long learners) is hugely important community obligation, and I want to make sure I am doing what I can. Perhaps I am mucking things up. I don’t really know.

    I also put stock in the mandate to “love one another as you love yourself.” Yes, I realize I am often a hypocrite and sometimes focus on the last two words, but I have a desire to live out the entire thing. This is how I do it.

  3. Laura B. Says:

    I haven’t looked at our most recent property tax bill (my husband takes care of that), but I’ll ask him for the breakdown this evening. Our distribution is probably somewhat different (for example, I believe Champaign’s library tax rate is higher than Tolono’s). Unit 4 tax *rate* should be the same for both Champaign and Savoy though.

  4. Laura B. Says:

    Oh, and what Chuck said regarding your motivation. 🙂

  5. pattsi Says:

    My curiosity question pertains to how many tax dollars have been lost to Unit 4 due to TIF districts. Previously I have urged folks to read the investigative reporting articles by Ben Javorsky, appearing in the Chicago Reader, on the economic effect of the 167 districts not only on Chicago but the rest of the state. Here is the most recent from last week’s Reader–truly amazing http://www.chicagoreader.com/chicago/mayor-spends-tax-dollars-on-sports-arena/Content?oid=9769374

  6. pattsi Says:

    Part II to the above referenced Javorsky article about using TIF monies to build a basketball arena for DePaul along with a hotel that will not be on the tax roles and will cost $55 M. In the 31 May N-G on p. A-4 bottom left is a very small article about the House passing a bill to fund a 3rd Chicago-area airport in Peotone along with funding for this arena. This bill now moves to the Senate. Can’t wait for the next Javorsky article on this project.


Leave a Reply

