ISATs

Next week Unit 4 enters testing hell. After talking to several teachers and building administrators, I have not heard anyone use favorable words on this subject. So my internet ears perked up when I read about a possible boycott in Chicago backed by the Chicago’s Teacher Union:

http://blogs.edweek.org/teachers/living-in-dialogue/2014/02/chicago_test_boycott_second_sc.html

 

Make sure you watch the embedded video – the president of the Chicago Teacher’s Union has some VERY STRONG words to say about the ISAT and offers strong support for any teacher/school that wishes to not administer the ISAT. And she makes a really good point – what good or benefit comes out of the ISAT? How are children being served by this? How does this advance education and address the achievement gap?

They have also created a petition and their current goal is 2000 signatures (1447 obtained at this moment).

To me, I am very impressed that this is not a mere knee-jerk reaction, but a deliberated, debated, even a contested decision. I don’t think Champaign would be in a position to follow suit simply because we have not had the months of conversation and wrapping our head around these things. I applaud those in Chicago who are taking their education seriously and are actively pursuing what is best for their children.

I am no fan of the ISAT or any standardized test. Ironically, as I stated in that post, the minimum pass rate should be 100% if they mean business, and this year, the final year of NCLB, the targeted goal is to get all schools to 100% AYP. The prediction is that exactly ZERO schools will meet 100% AYP. Keep your eyes open.

 

I told my daughter to get every question wrong. I don’t know if she will follow my advice – there is a crazy ton of pressure to get answers “right”. I am tempted to tell her to choose “A” for every multiple-choice as a “Plan B”.

4 Responses to “ISATs”

  1. charlesdschultz Says:

    I heard a fascinating idea today – instead of boycotting the ISATs, what about using the opportunity to teach children how to take standardized tests? Given that standardized testing is here to stay for the foreseeable future, might as well teach students how to take them confidently. I remember taking PSAT’s in high school and how that helped me to prepare for those college entrance exams. Why wait until students are juniors?

  2. pattsi Says:

    Oh, wait, yesterday’s news, college entrance exams have been on a downward curves for some time now. 🙂

    • charlesdschultz Says:

      @Jackie, you going to tell us why you thought they were interesting? 🙂

      Thanks for sharing, I’ll look through those and see what they have to say.


Leave a Reply

