World Languages Curriculum

I mentioned earlier that I noticed an RFP for 180 iPads (2nd Generation). I was more curious than anything; the RFP gives no indication whatsoever of the justification or the purpose for these devices. So I asked. As noted in the post, Stephanie Stuart replied right away that they will be used to support the World Languages instruction. Recently I further learned from Dr. Wiegand that the board approved this new curriculum back on April 9th, 2012.

 

Looking back, April 9th was an interesting day (post 1, post 2). At the time, I did not make any mention about the World Languages curriculum due to all the intensity dealing with Working Cash Bonds. World Languages happened to be the first item on the business agenda, and looking back I am surprised at all the supporting documentation available via boarddocs. In the end, the administration asked for $684,926. Of the six supporting documents, only one mentions iPads, and only 60 at that. I am not exactly sure why the district is requesting 180 now, nor why 2 years later. Presumably, the iPads were supposed to come out of the Summer 2012 budget – now that we are sitting at Spring 2014, I am thinking the figures have shifted a little bit.

 

So here is my quandary. Is this a big deal at all? World Languages sounds like a really good idea given all the ethnic and cultural diversity we have, thanks largely to a Big Ten research institution. Obviously, a number of teachers, administrators, not to mention consultants, put some serious time and effort into the pilot (at least, according to the documentation available to us). Is it worthwhile to start digging into this niche circumstance, to learn how effective the World Languages curriculum has been, what “bang” our $685k got? Should I care what the iPads are used for? Or what about the involvement of Pearson and all the other curriculum materials we purchased?

On the other hand, I might just ask questions about the curriculum because I truly am curious and want to learn more. In my experience, if I start off talking to administrators and teachers with “Hey, this is cool, can you tell me more?”, they usually jump at the opportunity to tell me all about it. And my first response to Stephanie Stuart was along the lines of admiration for geeky gadgetry being used to tear down language barriers. I kinda want to see it at work. 🙂

 

On a more general issue, it concerns me that the RFP has absolutely no mention of “World Languages” at all. There is no indication that the board approved x number of iPads at a previous board meeting. But how much of a concern is this really? Does anyone in the community really care about RFPs? I don’t hear anyone else making any noise.

 

Which ties back to the same post about the iPad RFP in which I mention “normalized deviance.” Have we become so numb to the way things happen in our school district, our cities, our state and our nation that we are willing to let these minor things slide?

 

I do not want to nit pick really small things. $685k (spread over 4 years) is a reasonable chunk of change, but we currently have bigger fish to fry. Heck, if I wanted to make a big deal about small things, my panties would get all bunched up over the silly $900 plaque we hang in school buildings for LEED certification. But I am contemplating how to use this as a small example of holding our district accountable. Truly, I think we have lost the art of respecting the social obligation and civic responsibility of looking out for one another. It is not with judgement and criticism that we should look carefully at each other, but rather with a genuine desire to see improvement hoping that others would do the same for us.

 

Now to go learn more about World Languages…..

One Response to “World Languages Curriculum”

  1. Karen Says:

    You know, a lot of things sound like a really good idea. The fiduciary responsibility of the school board is to prioritize good ideas brought forth relative to budget constraints. Can there be an equally effective World Language curriculum without the costly technology? I bet so (as has been the case since the beginning of time). How does this World Language curriculum align with Common Core? How is the district planning to pay for Common Core associated costs? . The Board approved this curriculum. I guess I could email them asking what kind of data they based their decision on WRT how the cost of this is justified, tech-wise. Should look at the other docs first though (saw the one you linked–didn’t see any data justifying the choice of this curriculum). Then again, Common Core is basically untested and unproven and look at the whopper of a price tag coming with that! Time to pinch pennies with tax payer money.


Leave a Reply

