June 30th Board Meeting agenda posted

The agenda for the June 30th board meeting has been posted. There are a number of items about the High School site relocation, including a “Benefit Cost Life Cycle Analysis” that is not posted, and a couple of Traffic Impact Analysis reports by Gorski-Reifsteck. I also see that the SRO Contract is first on the agenda, and I believe that the African-American community is going to make their presence known for this topic. The SRO Program deserves our scrutiny because it is public tax payer dollars, and there is very little accountability or even any attempt to measure how well the program is doing. Matt Faster will also go through the first steps of presenting next year’s budget, which also deserves our scrutiny but my expectation is that nobody will even be paying attention to it, not even the media. I hope to be wrong. 🙂

 

I hope to attend this meeting. Anyone else planning to go?

2 Responses to “June 30th Board Meeting agenda posted”

  1. kshannon617 Says:

    I plan to go. I’ve never been to one of these…do you know how long they usually run?

    My main concern is the location for the new Central. I haven’t gone to past board meetings because everything I’d heard or read indicated that the board had made up their mind, that there was no suitable location closer to the center of town. I still think that’s probably true, but I see a glimmer of hope that there might be a way to change their minds. I guess I just want to let them know why some of us are opposed to the location up north.

    The agenda states that the meeting begins at 6:00, with an executive session at 5:30. Does that mean I should show up at 6?

  2. pattsi Says:

    Is anyone pushing for participatory budgeting during the budget process. The County Board has scheduled a full evening for public input on the budget on 23 Sept. The budget presentations are scheduled for 25, 26, and 27 Aug. These are listening sessions, no public input. After these presentations there is the month until Sept. to look at the budget, contact CB members, and be prepared for the scheduled evening for public input.
    Here is more information about participatory budgeting http://www.participatorybudgeting.org/
    It is your tax dollars that all elected officials are deciding how to spend so the taxpayer ought to be involved.


Leave a Reply

