The difference one person can make: Dorothy Vickers-Shelley

As I watching the Jan 26th Special Board meeting via vimeo, I was fascinated by the many heart-felt and warm words being shared about a person whom I have never heard of before. Reverend Underwood, Imani Bazzell, Pamela-Alyse Shelley and Teresa Blandon of Delta Sigma Theta each stood up to testify and give witness to an amazing woman by the name of Dorothy Vickers-Shelley.

The motion to name the BTW library after Vickers-Shelly passed unanimously. It was only today (two weeks later) that I found Nicole Lafond’s nicely written News-Gazette article on this topic – she did a much better job than I ever could, so go read it.

I wish to highlight a quote attributed to Vickers-Shelley:

‘Life is short; therefore I shall be a crusader in the fight against ignorance and fear beginning with myself’

Wow. She is now on my list of amazing women.

Leave a Reply

