Kenwood presentations

I had the opportunity to contribute (in an exceptionally small way) towards the work of an University class on Advertising that focused on Kenwood. I also received some of the cool products they generated, and am excited to share them.

 

PistolShrimp-KenwoodCampaign

Veer-KenwoodCampaign

TheAgency-KenwoodCampaign

FRESH-KenwoodCampaign

Posted in Community. Tags: . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Kenwood presentations”

  1. Kathy R. Says:

    Interesting.

    I notice that several of these presentations make explicit a desire to pitch Kenwood to “affluent” parents, or set a goal of reducing the percentage of “low-income” students at the school. I certainly understand the goal of making Kenwood more “desirable” — sounds like a good class project. But if I were a parent of modest means who was considering sending my child to Kenwood, these messages would certainly make me think twice about whether my child or my family would be welcome there.

    I have to think that the undergrads in this class know little to nothing about what it means to run a school system that serves a majority-low-socioeconomic-status population. (2014-2015: 58% percent of Unit 4 students qualified for free/reduced price lunch.) Creating an advertising campaign with the message that the children who stand to benefit the most from quality public education should go elsewhere…?

    I would be very careful about associating that negative and exclusionary message with any of Unit 4’s schools.

    • charlesdschultz Says:

      Yes, I noticed the same thing, and I questioned a couple folks about that:
      https://twitter.com/sacrophyte/status/688790507464577024. I am not sure why they chose that kind of sales pitch.

      I do know that several adults at Kenwood are worried/concerned about the low test scores. However, there are also adults at Kenwood that love the opportunity to work with a “higher-than-normal” low SES population. It’s a mixed bag. My observation is that when teachers have the freedom and autonomy to address the needs of children where they are at, both the teacher and the children are better because of it. But when the focus is on test grades, both suffer for it. Granted, I have not talked to every single teacher or child, I am just stating my passive observation from being in schools, and being in Kenwood several times.

      To be clear, and for the record, I personally know several teachers and administrators at Kenwood that fully embrace and warmly welcome families of “modest means”. I will further note that Kenwood leadership has chosen not to use these materials as part of their official advertising/promotion campaign.

      My own personal excitement came from the fact that the University was engaging the schools at this level; I think that is a good thing. And I appreciate all the hard work that went into these pieces. I hope we see more in the future (and maybe iron out some rough spots as we continue *grin*).


Leave a Reply

